August 5, 2012

  • You looked lost; a hat with strings around the chin- loose, a knapsack that had shoved in clothes. Worn and torn pants and a t-shirt and I looked at you looking at me. I'm not the only prisoner in this place. I need to find a balance between the boring, the piles of clothes to sort, the trash to take out. As you walked toward me again I felt like I was looking at a character for my next novel, The road could take him so many places from here, where did he want to go?

    Written later..

     

    Our relationship tastes like apathy
    and of course you are so nice to me
    I wish that you could only see
    that my baggage weighs a ton

    everyone has baggage
    I know that's what you'll say
    but mine is too much weight to stay
    and we both know you'll find a pretty girl
    someday.