October 9, 2017

  • little bubble

    Snow falls still on the valley
    Underscoring tragedy and joy
    Lay me down, let my heart slow
    Use your instruments
    Pull it out, make it beat
    The box is locked
    And it holds the key
    Broken splinters on the floor
    Exit wounds and sarcastic smiles
    Tear apart every memory
    Of men and boys alike
    Who crushed me endlessly
    Now I watch what I say
    "I love you" is just a pacifier
    You're going to leave someday
    and I'm tired of pretending you won't
    I keep vomiting cliches
    Spit out all the words
    Anything everyone wants to hear
    Understanding that there really is nothing
    I am nothing but a puppet on a string
    Fine me a nice little bubble
    So you can observe me obey
    These chains are too heavy anymore